Sunday, September 28, 2008

Bits and Pieces

Well lets see... what has been going on....

I finished Twilight yesterday. It was SO good! I definitely recommend it. I started the next book, New Moon. I heard it's not as good as the first but hardly anything ever is. I'll let you know what it's like as I get going.

What else? What else?

Oh it was Stephanie's birthday celebration this Saturday. Her real B-Day is on Tuesday. We had a great time! We started off the night at Houlihan's for dinner than on to a local bar. We played a million games of pool. I didn't do too bad. I'm getting better. The past couple of guys that I have dated were so determined to teach me that I actually picked up a couple things. I wasn't feeling too well near the end of the night so I went home.

I think she is realizing how old she is...

Pretty ladies


She looks so happy :-)


Which is a segue into my next story...

As I was laying down, I got a text for my friend that I work with. It wouldn't have been unusual but it was almost 2 o'clock in the morning. I read it and it says, "Your new apartment is on fire. Burning up." I was like WHAT??!!! She calls me and tell she is across the street at her apartment complex and there is like 10 fire trucks outside of the apartments that I'm going to be moving into in a couple of weeks and one of the buildings is on fire. So I get some clothes on and drive over there... its like 3 minutes away from where I live now... and boy was she right. One of the apartment buildings in the complex was completely on fire. As I stand there watching it I figure out that the building that is on fire is not anywhere near the one that we will be moving into. Thank God! It was really scary though. There were people running around and fire fighters all over the place. I drove by this morning to look at the building in the daylight. The top apartments where it started I guess, was completely destroyed. I'm just glad it didn't happen when I was living there.

So all this fire stuff really made me think. If there was a fire in my house and I had only a couple of minutes to get out... what would I take? And this is what I came up with...

  1. My stuffed care bear... I've had it since I was a baby and really means a lot to me
  2. My external hard drive... it has all my pictures and all of my music on it
  3. My camera
  4. and the locket my Grandma gave me
If your house were burning down... what would you take?

Wednesday, September 24, 2008

new car pictures... finally


Here is my beautiful new car! Sorry it took so long for me to post, but here it is! I've been trying to think of a name for it. And I haven't come up with anything cool yet. It's definitely a her. If you have any ideas... let me know!

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

My new addiction

Thanks to some friends at work I have found a new addiction. While no book could ever take the place of my first love...


Twilight has settled my longing for something irresistible that I can not put down. I long for the work day to be over so I can read. I light my cider scented candle and prop my self up on my couch for a good read. Stephanie Meyer has taken everyone's perfect man and made him come alive on the pages of her first novel. With one big exception... he's kinda a vampire. Now I sound like a book critic or something. Anyway... I had to take a quick break from the book to share with you all how great it is.

Monday, September 22, 2008

oh perfect job.... where art thou?

So it has been 4 months and 12 days since they played pomp and circumstance and I so proudly held my head up high and marched across the stage and received my oh so elite Bachelor of Arts diploma. My question now is.... oh perfect job... where art thou? Actually let me rephrase that last statement. Oh job... any job... where art thou?

This question formed in my head today while I was at my current position. Am I really cleaning up after children? Really? With my thousands of dollars education? REALLY? I'm so frustrated right now. I shouldn't have to do this anymore. Why did I go to school? Please someone give me some motivation quick!

I did send my cover letter and resume to this one ad agency that had posted a job opening last week. This job would be so perfect! I would have 18 paid holidays a year! Full health insurance and a 401K! Please everyone pray for me.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

NEW CAR!

So you won't hear me bitching about my car ever again... hopefully. Because last Thursday night I bought a new car. Well technically it's not new new, but new to me. It's a 06 Mitsubishi Lancer. It's blue and beautiful! Is it possible to be in love with a car? I think so. It doesn't make weird sounds. I'm not afraid to drive it! It's wonderful. And the payments are really reasonable too. I can definitely afford it.

The buying experience was really strange. Strange in a good way I guess. As you know I have been looking for a new car for a while. Almost all summer. I had been looking online everyday to see if I could find a good deal. Well, I kept going back to the Lancer. It was a good price, low miles, seemed to look ok, so I decided to just go and test drive it on Thursday. Next thing I know I'm sitting in the financing office signing documents. Now this may not sound strange to anyone else but I was strange for me. Yes, I have been living on my own for almost 5 years... but I have always felt the need to ask my Mom's permission before I made big decisions. As I was sitting in the dealership I just kept thinking to myself... "Oh What's Mom going to think?" "She's going to say that I can't afford this or something." "I should really call her and ask her if it's ok." But then it dawned on me. I'm 24 years old. I have a college degree. I have my own apartment. I have a job (not a good one) but a job. I pay my bills. I don't need to ask her if it's ok. I'm pretty sure I'm a big girl now. I'm buying this f---ing car! And I did. And you know what... she told me how proud she was of me. Doing this all on my own. Taking care of everything. She was almost crying on the phone. I'm proud of myself too.

I know I've asked this question before. But how do you know when you are an adult? These are some of the ways that I have figured out so far...

  1. When you meet a guy out somewhere you look to see if he is wearing a wedding ring.
  2. You go to more weddings in a year then birthday parties.
  3. Your friends from high school are having babies.
  4. You get a $50,000 life insurance policy (yes I did that yesterday... what? it was as good deal)
That's all I can think of right now. I'm sure there is more. Let me know if you think of anything else.

BTW... pictures of the Lancer coming soon... I promise.

Monday, September 15, 2008

I opened up the windows today...

FINALLY! I was so excited when I woke up today. It was in the low 70's this morning! It was a breath of fresh air! If you know south Texas you know how long it stays hot in the summer. I agree with Julie... I cant wait for long sleeves, boots, and scarves. And comfort food. My Mom makes this awesome pumpkin soup. As soon as I get the recipe from her I'm going to post it! It's amazing! This weather also makes me miss the Midwestern fall. The leaves changing, and there is this smell in the air that lets you know that autumn has arrived. I totally miss that! This time of year always makes me super homesick. *Sigh*

Sunday, September 14, 2008

I'm not old but my body is telling me I am...

Things that should not be happening at 24 years of age, but are...

  1. I seriously think I found a grey hair the other day
  2. While sitting at my computer lately I have been getting a headache, I finally realized that it was from squinting... I think I may need reading glasses.
  3. I banged my leg at my desk at work and the next day I have a bruise the size of Texas on my leg
I still haven't found a job yet. I went to the Spurs Career Fair yesterday with Julie's K. He just graduated from college in May also. The thing was kinda a joke. There were about 10 companies there, all sports related. Some of the big name sports entertainment companies from the surrounding areas were there. They weren't doing any on site interviewing, just taking resumes. All they told us were jobs that were available and to go online and apply for them. Ok I just did not wait almost an hour standing in line (with heels mind you) for you to tell me that! The only cool thing about it was afterward they had a post mixer with dollar beers. Nothing like trying to network with other jobless people while drinking your 1$ Coors Lite. I also for some reason found it necessary to try and flirt with the good looking boys in business suites. (Any chance I get right?) My goodness I'm becoming one of those... EKKK!

Oh well. But today Sarah calls me to tell me of this awesome position that she found online that would be perfect for me! And it's not sales! So I spent a couple of hours this afternoon working on my cover letter and perfecting my resume. Thanks Mom for the awesome advice. I love my Momma, she's SO smart! It was just posted on Friday so please everyone send good vibes my way. I hope to hear back from them soon.

As for the boys in my life... The guitar hero and I have become quite good friends. We talk almost everyday and he is super fun to hang out with. Although he is 4 years older than me we are pretty much in the same boat, except he doesn't have his degree. We are both pretty up in the air as to what we want to do with our lives. He really wants to move too but doesn't know exactly where he wants to go. All he knows is that he doesn't want to stay here. Me either.

As far as the bartender goes, I'm pretty sure he hates me. But I really don't blame him all that much. Last Thursday, some friends and I from work went to the bar where he works. When we got there he told me to put "whatever I wanted on his tab." Ok... so I did. But for some unknown reason, even at this point in time, I told my friends to do the same. Perhaps I was thinking he wouldn't mind. I dunno. I proceeded to get very drunk. And when I start drinking a lot I get pretty friendly. You know what they say... liquid courage. So, I start flirting with the lead singer of the band that was playing, you know while still putting drinks on the bartenders tab. WTF was I thinking? I don't think I was, that's the whole point. I woke up the next day feeling like s*#@, not just because I had a horrible hangover but for what I did. I usually don't do things like that. I'm always pretty nice and considerate of others feelings. So, I texted him many times telling him how sorry I was and offering to pay him back. Yup... no response. I figured as much. Well, last night we went to the bar and I saw him.

Me: Hey ----. How's it going?
Him: Good.
Gives me this sort of akward half hug.
Me: Did you get any of my texts?
Him: Yeah. Some of them.
Me: Well... I'm...
He turns and walks away. I'm standing there looking like a complete idiot.

I'm done with him. It was a pretty f---ed thing I did. But I apologized, offered to repay him. There is nothing else I can do now.

Anyway. That's the latest on my life.... always entertaing. It's almost time for The Simpsons.

Wednesday, September 3, 2008

Fianlly....

Ok so I did not fall off the face of the Earth. Although you might have thought that since I haven't written in a while.

Let see... what has happened these past couple of weeks.

The Job Front

Still no job to speak of. I'm still desperately looking. Lately I have just been feeling very underpaid and under appreciated. Did I seriously go to school for 6 years and pay God knows how much money to be writing signs that say "No Peanut Products are allowed at this childcare facility." I DO NOT think so! If I told you what I got paid I think most of you would faint. It is barely enough to get by. That reminds me that since I am now officially cut off from my Mom, I am getting an apartment with one of my friends. She is really cool and we get along great! I'm super excited, especially for the part where we get to split all the bills in half. I will be saving like $150 on rent alone. Praise Jebus! We move in the first week in October. Anyway back to the job hunt. For some unknown reason, I was talking to BB a couple of weeks ago on AIM and he asked me how the job hunt was going. Our conversation is as follows...

BB: How is the job hunt going?
Me: Terrible, haven't found anything yet.
BB: Well, have you thought about what you want to do?
Me: Oh no! I haven't at all! (sarcasam implied) Of course I have. It's not really a matter of that anymore. I just need a job at this point... almost anything that pays me more than I'm getting now.
BB: Well, where have you been looking?
Me: Everywhere!
BB: Have you tried monster.com or careerbuilder.com
(This is the part where I almost through my computer out of the window I was so pissed off)
Me: No "BB" I haven't tried that at all! What a good f-ing idea! It's not like I have been out of school for almost 4 months or anything and haven't tried that new fangled invention called the internet!

I was SO mad! That was the dumbest thing he has ever asked me. I know deep down inside he was trying to help, but it just really pissed me off to no end. Maybe it was just the boiling point. Because everyone and their mom has been asking me the same question all summer, "So Becky, What are you going to do now." I just want to scream at them I DONT KNOW! LEAVE ME ALONE! I have a career fair in a couple of weeks. I'm hoping that will be helpful.

The Guitar Hero and Others

So, nothing really major with the guitar hero lately. We talk almost everyday either on AIM or text (he's not really of a phone convo type of guy) But he keeps calling me his friend. At first I was a little upset but then realized that it was ok. I kinda think of him like that anyway. Besides I don't think I could be in a real relationship with him right now. Plus, he told me a while back that he wasn't looking to get into a relationship right now anyway. And another thing. He doesn't have a car. Which is totally cool. But, I'm kinda tired of picking him up and driving him everywhere we go, espcially since my car has been acting funny. The other day when I was taking him home he goes to me, "can you swing by Little Cesar's real quick? I wanna get some food." I was all like ok. I didn't really mind but it kinda bugged me a little bit. And he didn't even offer to give me money for gas. So, fine we'll just be friends.

I have also been out witht this other guy a couple times, his nickname will be The Bartender. He's actually friends with another friend of mine. He gave me his number a couple weeks ago when I went to the bar where he works. I thought he was kinda cute so I agreed to go have dinner with him last weekend. We had a nice meal and a nice conversation. Until he throws out a couple big bombs on me

1. He smokes (Yuck! I H.A.T.E. cigarettes)
2. He really enjoys bartending and doesn't mind doing for a life long career
and finally...
3. He doesn't have a car! (WTF is with these guys not having cars! I'm so tired of driving my POS around picking up these guys for our dates. I'm not super traditional but seriosuly give me break!)

We went out again on Monday night. Went to dinner, a movie, and had a couple of drinks. Again, it was nice, but I'm really not attracted to him. The thing is... I know that he likes me. He told my friends that he did and I can tell when we hang out that he does. I feel bad that I don't feel the same about him, but I we have absolutely nothing in common. This always seems to happen. The ones I have no interest in are really into me and the ones that I'm really interest in have zero interest in me. Murphy's law I guess.

The Car

I hate my car! The belts keep squeaking, the transmission is f**ked, and my window won't roll down unless you push on it. My plan is to get a new used car after I move. I have done my budget a million times and I'm pretty sure I can afford a small car payment. Everyone pray for me that I will find a job soon so I won't have to worry about the car anymore! Thanks. I appreciate it!