One major change for me is that my best friend Stephanie left yesterday for California. She will be there for about 5 months. (She got a temporary job there for the winter.) While I am very happy for her for this great opportunity I can't help but feel a little bit selfish.... I'm going to miss her... A LOT. It really didn't hit me that she was leaving until this past Monday when I said goodbye to her. I gave her a great big hug said "see you in April" and got into my car, drove away and started to cry. I guess I didn't realize until then what a big part of my life she is. I mean I always know that she is... it just really struck me at that moment. I know it's just 5 months and she will be back but still... that's almost half a year. But on the other hand I am so proud of her. She got this great opportunity to do this job and instead of saying "no, I can't leave my boyfriend and my friends for 5 months," she said of course! She is a very strong person that realizes a great opportunity when she sees it. Maybe that's why she is such a good friend, because I look up to her. She is confident in who she is and what she wants to do with her life. She trusts herself enough to move away from everything she knows for half a year to do something that she loves. That is the person I long to be. As for now I'm working on it.
Ok enough tears...
I've come to a rest with my dating. At least for a while. I have gone on about 4 first dates in the past couple of months and all of them have been pretty disappointing. The last one was a complete waste of time except for the free movie and dinner.
- He answered his phone during the movie... that's a cardinal sin in my book... then left the theater for almost ten minutes to talk. THEN had the nerve to ask me when he got back, "So, what happened?" I said, "You're kidding right?"
- We went to Johnny Carinos for dinner and he says to me,"I don't normally go to fancy places like this." It took every fiber in my being to not fall off my chair laughing. I wonder what he thinks is a non fancy restaurant... Whataburger?
- He wore his baseball hat during dinner. Ok while Johnny Carinos isn't a "fancy" restaurant as he claimed it was, at least take your hat off during dinner. Didn't your mother teach you better manners?

1 comment:
Wow...when you say half a year, it seems so much longer! You will be fine honey. That strong, independent woman is inside of you. You just have to figure out how to let her out. Love you!!
Post a Comment