Tuesday, March 31, 2009

A letter to my computer

Dear a million year old computer,

We have had some found memories together. I remember picking you out online when the internet was still new and exciting. You were my first big thing I ever purchased on my own. I remember getting you in the mail in a million different boxes. We had some great times my freshman year in college. Remember those late nights staying up IMing and downloading music? I sure do.

But now things are quite different. Time has really flown by. I can't believe we have spent more than 7 years together. Back when I got you, 15 gigs of hard drive space was a lot. I'm sorry to say that it isn't that way anymore. Sometimes it can be a bit frustrating when only 3 out of your 6 USB ports work. You are getting old and slow.

At this point in my life right now, I need a computer that is going to be lighting speed with tons of hard drive space. And you just aren't cutting it anymore. I don't even want to know why you won't even let AIM run properly. What did it ever do to you? My friends cant even tell that I am online when I am. No wonder people havent been IMing me.

While I will always have a special place in my heart for you ol' Dell. I think it may be time for a new computer. I already have one in mind. I don't want to hurt your feelings too bad but its name rhymes with shack.

But don't worry. I'll be with you till the end. I'll be there for you holding your mouse gingerly in my hand, recalling all those wonderful times we've had together.

Thanks for everything,

Bex

This one's for Faith



Faith said she liked this one better... Thanks Erin... I totally stole this pic from your myspace. It was just too easy!

Thanks Dad! Joke revision

This version is even funnier...


A frog goes into a bank and walks (hops?) to a teller whose name, according to her sign, is Patty Wick. The frog says that he wants a loan of $100,000. "We don't give loans to frogs" says Ms Wick. "But I have collateral", says the frog. He then shows her a cheap statue of Elvis.
"That isn't worth nearly enough..." Ms Wick starts to say but she is interrupted by the frog who says, "And, furthermore, my father is Mick Jagger." "THAT DOES IT," screams the teller. She grabs the Elvis statue and marches with the frog to the office of the bank president.
"This frog," she says, "wants a $100,000 loan, says his father is Mick Jagger, and has only THIS for collateral. What is this thing, anyway"?
The bank president replied, "It's a knickknack, Patty Wick, give this frog a loan. His old man is a Rolling Stone."

Monday, March 30, 2009

Where in i try to tell a joke

So Mr. and Mrs. Frog were recently married. They really wanted to buy a new house. So Mr. Frog went to the bank to see about a loan. He went up to a bank representative, one Miss Patricia Black, and said, "I would like to see about getting a loan to buy a new house." Miss Patricia Black said, "Ok Mr. Frog. Do you have any money for a down payment?" "I do not." said Mr Frog. "Well then," said Miss Black, "Do you have any collateral?" Mr. Frog pulls out a solid gold snow globe and hands it to her. Miss Black says, "Hmmm, I'm not sure what this is Mr. Frog or if it will count as collateral. I will have to ask my manager." So she calls her manger over. "I'm not sure what this is sir," said Miss Black. The manger responds with... It's a nic- nack Patty Black. Give that Frog a loan!


I heard that this weekend and laughed SO hard. I'm a sucker for stupid corny jokes. And that one just takes the cake!


Do you have any corny jokes you would like to share with me?

Sunday, March 29, 2009

This weekend

On Friday Erin, Faith, Sarah, and I went to go see the Spazmatics at The Scout Bar.





If you've never seen these guys... they are amazing! We had so much fun. You know when you are doing something and you are totally in the moment and you realize "I am having SO much fun right now!" That was Friday.






Then on Saturday I had a double baby shower where I crushed all the opponents and won two out of the four games. Go me!

Saturday night I went to a friend of mine's wedding. It was absolutely gorgeous and I have never seen a happier couple. Right now they are on their way to Spain for a cruise of the Mediterranean. I'm super jealous with a capitol J!


Thursday, March 26, 2009

Big fat fatty

I know I am suppose to love myself and all but lately I have been feeling SUPER fat. I know its all about perspective. My best friend doesn't think I look fat, but I know I have gained most of my weight back since I lost 20 pounds two years ago.

So, I did something about it! I went back to Weight Watchers. It worked SO well for me before. I mean look at me then...


And this is a picture of me from last weekend...



Ack! That is GROSSSS! So that right there is why I went back. I'm doing really well this week so far. It has been super hard though and it is about to get even harder. I went to a BBQ this evening, I have a dinner at Chili's tomorrow (when of the worst restuarnts for a diet on the planet!), I have a baby shower AND a wedding on Saturday. Lord please help me!

BUT... I have a plan! I did pretty good tonight at the BBQ. First I saved 11 points. So I ate a couple peices of grilled chicken on a roll (probably shouldn't of had the roll) and a couple of chips. As for chili's I went to dwlz.com, WW heaven, and figured out what I am going to have. The kids menu isn't so bad. The kids grilled chicken sandwich is only 3 points! And corn on the cob (without butter) is only 3 points! 6 points for dinner is not bad in the least. So that will be easy. As for the baby shower I made the famous WW diet soda cake. So I'm going to stick to that and the veggie tray a friend of mine is bringing. So, that just brings me to the wedding. I think it might be ok. The bride told me today that they are going to have stations, like buffett style, so I can pick and choose what I want. Plus since the Bride and Groom both went to Tulane for college the food is going to be New Orleans style food, which I really don't care for anyway. That means I'm going to stick to the salad bar.

Wish me luck!

Monday, March 16, 2009

BIG CRUSH!

So I really haven't fallen hard or even fallen for a guy in what seems like a long time. I have dated guys here and there... what were their names again?... The Guitar Hero, The (stupid) Marine, random guys here and there. But I really wasn't gaga over any of them. Until now... drum roll please....

Actually it really isn't that exciting. And I'm not going to write about how I know him specifically, just in case. But he is SO perfect... for me. He is super tall, probably about 6'4" (I love tall guys), he is super witty and funny (a guy that can keep me laughing constantly will have my heart), he plays the piano (my favorite all time instrument, even over the guitar), he can bake (that one is self explanatory), and he is super smart (I gotta to be able to hold a decent conversation with the guy.) So there you have it. He probably has no idea. He's single, so that's good. Should I make a move, like ask him for coffee, or should I just let things happen if they are going to happen?

Help!!

Saturday, March 7, 2009

I still love you

If you know me in real life and not just through my blog you may have realized lately that I have been kind of MIA. I used to really like going out a lot, especially on Saturday nights. I would go out to the bar, drink, and try to meet a guy. While it is fun once in a while, I have started to lose my appeal for doing this. I much rather stay home and watch a movie, or just hang out over at a friend's house. Taking the effort to get all dressed up to go out gets tiring and I usually just end up with just a bad headache the next morning anyway. So to all of my friends, I'm really sorry if it seems like I have been neglecting you. I haven't been doing it on purpose. I still love you.

A big part of it too is that I have been working very hard on our next movie. We start shooting next Saturday. I have been busy with making props, wardrobe, getting actors, and working on the story. It's going to be a rather big production. I am so super excited!

Movie List Update... if you can remember I am keeping a journal of all the new movies I have seen this year. That means new in the theater or new to me if I have never seen them before.

  • He's Just Not That Into You
  • Vicky Christina Barcelona
  • Raising Arizona
  • Confessions of a Shopaholic
  • The Substitute
  • Burn After Reading
  • Slumdog Millionaire
  • The International
  • The Boondock Saints
  • The Watchmen

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

This you gotta see....

Anyone else want to move to Liverpool with me for... oh about 4 years? Check out this article from Reuters Blogs.... Oddly Enough. The link to the article is at the bottom


All You Need Is Love.... and Tuition
Posted by: Robert Basler

Okay, this university over in Liverpool has just launched a Master of Arts degree in The Beatles. Presumably graduates may now claim to have what I guess will be called an MBA, or Masters of Beatles Appreciation.

This is actually a very savvy thing to do, since even in this time of global economic meltdown, many companies are looking to beef up their Beatles Division.

At campus job fairs, recruiters are expected to offer top dollar to grads with a Beatles degree, especially if they can back that up with an undergrad degree in Art History.

But here’s what I wanted to say, just to put the whole Beatles thing into perspective. You may have noticed that a month ago was the 40th anniversary of the group’s last public performance, the celebrated Rooftop Concert, in London. Can you guess why that gig lasted only 42 minutes?

A neighbor complained about it. “I want this bloody noise stopped. It’s an absolute disgrace,” he was quoted as saying. You can look it up if you don’t believe me.

Above: Former Beatle Ringo Starr flashes peace signs as he arrives in downtown Chicago in a 2008 file photo. REUTERS/Frank Polich

Below: Wax heads of the Beatles arrive in Liverpool, England, in a 2006 file photo. REUTERS/Phil Noble.





















http://blogs.reuters.com/oddly-enough/2009/03/03/all-you-need-is-loveand-tuition
/

Tuesday, March 3, 2009

Faith

No not my awesome friend, Faith, but rather the other kind of faith.

Answers.com defines faith as...

  1. Confident belief in the truth, value, or trustworthiness of a person, idea, or thing.
  2. Belief that does not rest on logical proof or material evidence. See synonyms at belief, trust.
  3. Loyalty to a person or thing; allegiance: keeping faith with one's supporters.
  4. often Faith Christianity. The theological virtue defined as secure belief in God and a trusting acceptance of God's will.
  5. The body of dogma of a religion: the Muslim faith.
  6. A set of principles or beliefs.

I have faith in a lot of things in my life. My family's unconditional love, that the Earth is orbiting the Sun, and that Spring will always follow winter. One thing that I have always had trouble having faith in is a higher power, a spiritual being, God. I was raised with my parents being from two totally different religious backgrounds. They tried to do what any 2 loving parents would do in that situation; they taught me and my brother about both religions. We celebrated both religious holidays and worshiped in both religious sanctuaries. They never forced us to believe one religion over the other. They wanted us to make the right decision, whether it be one of those two religions or something completely different, for us. They wanted us to figure out what we believe in and what works for us. Not just something that we were taught and forced to believe.

If I wasn't already in a quarter of a century crisis already now I have one more thing to add to my list. What do I believe? What do I have faith in? Is there a God? If there is, what difference does it make? Am I a Christian? Do I believe in Christ? Is the Bible actually God's words? How come some religions don't believe in Jesus? Was he really the Son of God?

Sometimes I feel like something is really missing in my life. That I am not completely happy. So I think, well maybe if I had a job I liked, a boyfriend/ husband, or a totally smoking hot body I would be completely happy. But would I? The thing is, there is no way I can answer that question. Would I be completely happy if I had God in my life? Some people truely believe the answer is yes. They say, put your life in God's hands and he will take care of you. I have a very good friend that believes this with 100% of his mind, body, and soul. Even if I wanted to do this, how would I go about doing so? Where do I start? Do I need to believe in Him first?

All I ever wanted in my life is to be completely happy. Will that ever happen? I hope so.